Nikkor 85mm F/1.4d vs 85mm F/1.8d

carol_sahlfeld

Hello,

I'm new to the forum and am researching lenses for my D70. There is a

huge price difference between the Nikkor 85mm F/1.4D and the 85mm

F/1.8D. I'm just a weekend amateur, looking for nice shots, but not

expecting to compete with the pros. Does anyone have an explanation on

why the price difference is so high between the two? 1.4 vs 1.8

doesn't seem to warrant this, but admittedly I am a newbie.

Thanks for any input.

The 85mm lens is a good choice. The f1.4 lens may have better out-of-focus highlights in the background at f1.4 than the f1.8 lens produces at f1.8. (85 x 1.5 = the actual focal length on your digital body,) so you may be happy with a AF 50mm f1.8D Nikkor lens for general shooting. It is even smaller and less costly than a AF 85mm Nikkor lens. Or a AF 28-105mm f3.5D~f4.5D Nikkor zoom lens might do as well for weekend shooting.

Your money and your choice.

The 1.4 is nearly a stop faster, that means instead of a photo at 1/60 the 1.4 will take it at about 1/100 (that's a rough guess), that could be the difference between getting and not getting the shot for a pro. There may be quality differences but it's most likely the extra speed you're paying for.

As an amateur as well I'd go for the 1.8

"85 x 1.5 = the actual focal length on your digital body"

That's patently not true. What you get is approximately the equivalent angle of view on your D70 with the 85mm lens that you would get with a 128mm lens on the standard 24 x 36mm film frame. None of the optical properties of the lens do not magically change because you mount it to a digital camera. Look at it this way. The digital sensor is smaller than the film frame, so what you're getting is an in camera crop of the lens' image circle. That's all.