Nikkor 80-200mm ED-IF AF-D- vs. Nikkor 80-200mm AF-S-ED.

kevin_leong1

I am an advanced photographer and I am interested in purchasing a

Nikkor 80-200mm AF len. I shoot mainly portrait, vacation shots,

architectural and landscape photography. Photography is just a

hobby. The question regarding the Nikkor 80-200mm ED-IF AF-D- vs.

Nikkor 80-200mm AF-S-ED.

1. Optical performance b/w AF-D and AF-S ED?

2. Telephoto performance b/w AF-D and AF-S ED?

3. Do I really need a "silient wave" lens for portrait, vacation,

architectural and landscape? I cannot justify paying almost double

for a len that have the same opticals. I do not shoot fast moving

subjects, may be in a "blue moon".

Currently I am using the Nikon F100 with 180mm ED lens, 50mm lens

and 24-120mm AF-D lens. If I repeat this question regarding the

Nikkor 80-200mm, please excuse me. Thank you.

AF will be faster on the AFS, but the latest non AFS 80-200 will AF pretty fast on your F100. For your intended uses, there is no point in AFS; you'd want it if you were shooting sports or other action, which it sounds like you're not. The optics should be the same, others correct me if I'm wrong.

My question for you is why you want the lens at all. You almost cover the range with your current setup. 80-200 is quite a useful range, but with a 180 and 80-120 covered by your zoom, it doesnt seem like you really need it. If you're looking for wider apertures in portraits at less than 180, (I'm sure the 24-120 is not that fast at the long end) maybe you should get an 85/1.8 which is cheaper than the 80-200 and a great portrait lens.

No, you don't need the AF-S. The AF 80-200/2.8D N focuses very fast on my F5, should be the same on the F100.