Nikkor 24-70 f2.8 lens rework?

stevenseelig

<p>This lens is a real work horse for me. It has never been dropped, jolted or anything that I would consider even close to damaging. But recently I find myself thinking it is not quite as sharp as it was in its youth. <br>

Question: For work horse lenses (I am guessing over 100,000 shots for this one), do people send it in for general refurbish maintenance. If yes, how often. <br>

A pro suggested doing it once a year, but I had never heard of doing regular maintenance on lenses.<br>

Thanks</p>

<p>I am not an expert in lens internals, but it would seem possible that all of the cam systems that re-position groups of elements could get some wear leading to less precise element placement. Maybe the same types of issues that makes some examples of some lenses better than others.</p>

<p>My 28-70/2.8 needs to go in. It is very sharp with a minor AF fine tune at close distances, but is significantly off at infinity. Darn.</p>

<p>If you send it in, I would include a note to the effect that you suspect a loss of sharpness, so that the repairer might pay a little more attention to alignment.</p>

<p>I regularly maintain my bodies (every two years), but usually only send in the lenses when they have an issue.</p>

<p>The 24-70 f2.8 unfortunately has "known issues" and most folks who use them regularly have to get them serviced. I got about two years out of mine before it needed work, as the zoom gets "crunchy". Like yourself, never dropped, banged or damaged. I've heard from many other folks who have had issues with that lens. Great optics, love to use it, just wish it were more robust.</p>

<p>Best,<br>

-Tim</p>

<p>"A pro suggested doing it once a year.." - Pro at what, I wonder? Prematurely wearing out lenses?<br>