Night Time Football Action Shots

jodi_crandell

<p>I'm using a Nikon D40X with a Nikor 70-300 lens and need advice on settings for night time action shots. I usually use auto settings during the day time with great results. But I'm having difficulties with night time shots, everything is coming out blurry. I'm a novice photographer with a good eye but lack knowledge with manual settings. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!</p>

<p>Unfortunately the lens you are using is probably not fast enough (aperture wise) to work at fast aperture speeds for typical night time football. Its usefulness will depend on the venue's lighting but for most cases you are probably out of luck. Fortunately there are techniques you can use to get good results with slower shutter speeds. Reading through some recent threads such as these may give you some insight:</p>

<p>http://www.photo.net/sports-photography-forum/00UhUj</p>

<p>http://www.photo.net/sports-photography-forum/00UgUb</p>

<p>http://www.photo.net/sports-photography-forum/00UYui</p>

<p>If you have the budget, there are of course lenses that will help make the task easier.</p>

<p>Elliot thank you for your response. This lens takes amazing pictures during the day its unfortunate that night time photos are a problem. Are there any settings within the cameras menu system that might help me. I've attached a shot I took a couple of weeks ago during the day. Thanks again!</p>

<div>00UieD-179583584.thumb.jpg.80ea3f96ce4edf1236bf572a5d064195.jpg</div>

<p><em>My first sentence should read:</em></p>

<p>Unfortunately the lens you are using is probably not fast enough (aperture wise) to work as fast aperture lenses are typically needed for typical nighttime football shooting conditions.</p>