Night Shooting w/ Canon Rebel XT

I am a total newb at the SLR world, my last camera being a Nikon Coolpix 995.

Now, I got this Canon Rebel XT and just this week got the 70-300mm IS USM lens.

My apologies in advance if I have posted this in the wrong place.

My problem is shooting at night. I have several books that I have been reading

as well as the manual. If I set the camera to night mode, the shutter will often

stay open for a long time. Of course, I can't hold my hand that steady so it not

only messes up the IS but if the background has cars, I get streams of light.

Now, sometimes that might be kewl, but not always.

Other times, if I focus on an item in a dark area, the camera will just not

shoot at all, with flash or not. I thought the entire point of this is to be

able to use it whenever and in all conditions. I have tried some manual

settings, but am not really sure how to adjust for the conditions. Oddly,

neither of the books I have really address this. The assumption is that the P&S

mode of your camera will take over. But mine doesn't. It will try to AF for a

while, then either read busy on the display, or just not click the shutter.

COuld my camera body be bad? It did this also with the stock 18-55mm lens.

I posted some of the photos on Picasa:

http://picasaweb.google.com/justkimberly/ShortyHowellParkAtNight

If you click on the photo/then "more info" on the right, it gives all of my

camera settings.

In semi-pro's in the Duluth, GA area who want to do some private training? LOL,

that is what I really need. I *really* want to learn this stuff, so any advice

is appreciated.

Set your camera to Tv (shutter priority), put it on a tripod, focus on your subject and fire. If you're in the city 5-10 seconds will do, if you're out where there's no light you may need the full 30 seconds. Just experiment. Your camera will tell you if you're over or under exposing (look at the green scale in your viewfinder).