Next Lens/Accessory for Better Portraits with a Canon Rebel XS with 18-55 IS lens

tom_collins3

<p>Hey there. Just got my Canon Rebel XS with 18-55 IS lens last weekend. I'm completely new to DSLR photography (still learning how ISO, Shutter, Aperture work together, etc) but I'm very interested in portrait photography (anything from kids to engagement portraits). What additional lens or accessory would give me the biggest bang for my buck to create better indoor and outdoor portraits (without breaking the bank)? A faster lens like the 50mm 1.8 (around $100) or an external flash like the 430EX (around $240), or something else I'm not thinking of? Thanks.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Practice with what you have first, do research into the 'styles' of photography you'd like to improve (primarily natural light vs using strobes). Look at the strobist.com blog, lots of good info and many don't even use the expensive name-brand flash. Check your local area and see if there is a photography club that you might be able to join and learn from. The 50mm 1.8 isn't a bad idea, I still have mine, it would be a good learning tool; especially at it's price. There are better portrait lenses, the 85mm 1.8 gets high marks (around $380). There are also some real good how-to videos on youtube you can check out.</p>

<p>Reflectors: here's a thread: http://www.photo.net/photography-lighting-equipment-techniques-forum/00GQ3M</p>

<p>The Lastolite Tri Grip, tho expensive, allows you to hold both camera and reflector at the same time. Also note that home made reflectors can be made at very little / zero cost - white poly foam board makes a good reflector (add aluminum foil for an alternative look). Some of the best portraits I've taken have been window light and a reflector. Once you've mastered that, you can start looking at off camera flash. </p>