New York City!

christopher_leonard

<p>Hi All,<br>

I'm a complete newbie here so and I'm looking for some help and advice. I live in Ireland and I'm travelling to New York City at the end of this January and I have a couple of questions you might be able to help me with, so here goes.<br>

<strong>Empire State Building: </strong>I have heard that there is a "chicken wire" type of fence around the viewing area which prevents the use of SLR's and only allows for P+S cameras to be used, and also are Monopods allowed??<br>

<strong>Subway to New Jersey: </strong>I'm staying in Times Square, and I'd like to take an evening/night shot of the Manhattan skyline, I know to get that shot i have to cross the river to the New Jersey side. Forgive me if this is a stupid question, but is there a subway that runs under the Hudson, and if so where would be the best location for me to shoot??<br>

<strong>Buying a used D3 or D3S in Manhattan: </strong>I know about B+H and Adorama, but are there any other reputable dealers, or more importantly anywhere to stay clear of!!</p>

<p>Thanks for your help!!</p>

<p>Chris</p>

<blockquote>

<p><strong>Empire State Building: </strong>I have heard that there is a "chicken wire" type of fence around the viewing area which prevents the use of SLR's and only allows for P+S cameras to be used, and also are Monopods allowed??</p>

</blockquote>

<p> <br>

Nothing prevents you from using SLRs but there is a fence. I can't remember if you can shoot through it.<br>

<br>

They officially restrict tripods but everyone I know who took a monopod got told to leave. It's a liability issue. Also, they won't hold stuff for you if you bring something you can't use.<br>

</p>

<blockquote>