New to using flash

al_n.

Greetings,

I am completely new to using a manual flash but have ordered an Altura Photo AP-UNV1 universal flash. On the back of the flash is the power selector which goes from 1/128 to 1 to 1. Is each one of those power outputs the shutter speed that i have to select in order to get a proper exposure? For example, when i select the weakest output which is 1/128 does that mean my shutter speed should be 1/128th of a second and when i go one step up in intensity to 1/64 does that mean my shutter speed should be 1/64th of a second? I am completely new to using a flash other than the pop one on my canon t3i/600D and any help would be greatly appreciated.

The power settings on the back of the flash have nothing to do with the shutter speed that you set on the camera. Set your camera to the X sync speed (Probably 1/180 on your Canon). Since the meter in the camera won't measure a manual flash, you will have to set exposure either by using the calculator on the flash or by experimenting and chimping. Good luck!

Greetings,

I am completely new to using a manual flash but have ordered an Altura Photo AP-UNV1 universal flash. On the back of the flash is the power selector which goes from 1/128 to 1 to 1. Is each one of those power outputs the shutter speed that i have to select in order to get a proper exposure? For example, when i select the weakest output which is 1/128 does that mean my shutter speed should be 1/128th of a second and when i go one step up in intensity to 1/64 does that mean my shutter speed should be 1/64th of a second? I am completely new to using a flash other than the pop one on my canon t3i/600D and any help would be greatly appreciated.