new to team & individual sports photography

susie_todd

Hi!

I am new to taking sports team and individual photography. The middle school by my house graciously

said I could take all the sports at the middle school. While this is exciting, I am very nervous. My only

team that I took prior to was a high school golf team.

The teams I will shoot next week are baseball, softball and track. I have a canon 30D and my lens is 70-

200 IS 2.8. Will this be sufficient to take the team photo (track has about 40 kids). Also, any ideas for

team photos (lining up) as well as individual poses would be great. I plan to do all the shooting outside,

in a shady area & will use a external flash. What should my settings be set for the team photo to make

sure everyone is in focus. I've seen some team photos shot "straight on" and others from a ladder?

Thoughts on this.

Again, I am new to this forum and relatively new to sports photography. For the team photography (8x

10), wanted to put their individual photo on it. Just ordered some software from graphic authority.

I appreciate any and all feedback and if you can send examples, the better.

Thank you!

Susie

Hi Suzie,

You probably want to look at something wider than the 70-200 for the group shots especially if there are 40 people in one team. google memory mates and you'll find stacks of examples to create something from you'll also get a good idea of posing there as well.

My big tip especialy since it's your first time is to make sure you allow yourself time to get things right DON'T over book yourself stretch it out over a few weeks if you have to, quality will outshine quantity here and give you a better rep.

Outside stuff is probably the easiest way to start off most photog's do, however I went away from it a few years back and shoot in a mobile studio now to control the lighting better.