New to Studio Lighting Alien Bees vs. Bowens

harry_wilson1

<p>I am a new member to Photo.net, but have followed this site for a while. I am also new to the world of Photography. My question is this, it seems to me that Alien Bees are a site favorite - how do they compare to Bowens, Photoflex etc.? I am willing to invest in good equipment but would rather go for quality over quantity. My starting budget for lighting is around $1500, I know that I can get a Bowens 500R 2 light kit from B & H for about $1300. I would like to be able to use radio triggers in the future, are all light sets compatible with them? Any help is much appreciated.</p>

<p>both systems have the ability to use radio triggers. I have worked with the travelites/bowens and they seem to do well. I have been trying to get the most out of my money as well as keeping good quality as well. everyone says that the aliens have great customer support and are good units. the modeling lights are 150 on the bees and 250 on the bowens. I am kind of stuck myself on pulling the trigger on one or the other. was set on the bees but have been leaning towards the travel lights just because i have used them. The alien cbersync remote triggers are cheaper and are suppose to work well, the pocket wizards of course work well and are more expensive. calumets triggers are cheaper then the wizards and will work on the bowens, but not as cheap as the cbersync.</p>

<p>you figure it out and let me know, i am tired of trying to figure it all out.</p>

<p>First of all, to Chach, I know what you're going through because I'm one of those people who researches everything to DEATH before I make a decision! I know I must drive my husband crazy :-) I drove myself crazy with the studio light decision as well. Like I mentioned in response to your other post, Buff has a 60-day money back guarantee, so that was reassuring when I made my decision.<br>