New to film photography : Pentax 645n and Nikon F100

tim_tim3

Hello,

I am very new to film photography, but already earning a living of digital photography.

I recently bought two cameras and shot some test rolls

- A fuji 400h Roll (rated at ISO 200) on the Pentax 645n

- A Portra 400 Roll (rated at ISO 200) on the Nikon F100

Then I took the rolls to a local lab (in Paris France, nothing very fancy just a normal lab...the files are very very small...). As I have no experience at all about it, I would love to have you opinion on the results. On the attached image you can see two pictures.

1510517989_Capturedcran2017-04-2018_05_57.thumb.png.97f473da48516b1a987fa1b50ba6ea9b.png

- The one on the left was taken with the Pentax 645n rated ISO 200, 1/180s F/2.8

- The one on the right was taken with the Nikon F100 rated ISO 200, 1/500 F/1.4

These two pictures were taken at the same moment, same light conditions. And the shutter speed + aperture settings should give an identical results when it comes to exposure.

Here are my questions :

1 - As the Fuji 400 and Portra 400 films were rated at ISO 200, I expected the picture to be a bit overexposed. Nevertheless as you can see on the attached images, the Pentax result is very very dark and the Nikon result seems to be normally exposed. Is there something I am missing?

2 - Do you think the result is normal or maybe I did something wrong?

3 - I know that the lab is very important in the process. I used a local lab as I just wanted to make sure the cameras were fully working. Do you think the result would have been completely different with a pro lab such as TheFindLab or RichardPhotoLab?

Thank you very much for your help and opinions on this :).

Have a great day!

TimTim