New to Digital-- need specs for a laptop

<p>Hello everyone--<br>

I am a longtime 35mm film photographer who is looking to go digital this year. Unfortunately, my laptop has decided to die on me and now I am looking to replace it. I will be using the laptop for lightroom and/or photoshop (at least until/if I stop playing around and get serious with digital). I want to make sure that I am going to get something that will function well.</p>

<p>What should I be looking for in a PC?</p>

<p>Thanks for helping out the newb~</p>

Are you planning an additional monitor and calibration software. If you do get serious you would likely want

an additional monitor and calibration software. If there is a chance of that happening, make sure the laptop

has adequate hardware to support a large monitor. With a Mac, that is not a problem, but buying a cheap

PC laptop just may be underpowered to run a large monitor. Configuring a PC laptop, sucks.

There seems to be two different camps here. Buy a cheap laptop because it will be outdated in a few

years, or pay a lot more up front and expect it to last twice as long.

My son bought a Macbook Pro a few years ago and he expects it will last him until he graduates college. If

so that will be 7 years. No doubt a good PC laptop would also last a lot longer if well equipped. On the

other hand, if I were to drop the laptop or someone steals it, I would prefer it to be a cheap one.

<p>whatever laptop flavor you will get, you need 4gig ram minimum, a good size HD.. 160-250 is good, speed have no effect for Photoshop, so keep the normal 5400rpm on ethat come normally with your laptop.</p>