and post on websites, etc. The B&W film is mostly TriX and Fuji

Neopan 400 and the slides range all over the place- from Kodachromes

to Kodak E6 stuff. What is a good scanner for my purposes. I don't

have much money to spend- approximately 3-400.00 dollars. I am

mostly concerned with being able to scan my B&W negatives where I

will get good quality and ease of working with them. The software I

am using at the moment is PS Elements 2. Thanks to everyone who

responds, Rick.

Alan, I take it that Vuescan is a type of software? I was looking through a B&H catalog and saw the Minolta Dual IV and it looked good, but being a complete novice at this I was hoping for feedback from anyone that could help, so you recommending that is a good sign. Like I said, my main concern is being able to scan my B&W negatives, some dating back more than 35 years. I am still shooting B&W film now and plan on doing so for a while. However, for color, I have gone digital. Thanks for helping, Rick.

Vuescan is a scanning software which does particular good on negative (colour & B&W). The issue with Minolta software is that it clips both ends of the histogram too much and made most scans too contrasty. But this is only a software issue and will be fine with Vuescan. If your prime concern is B&W negatives, even years old used scanners from Minolta/Nikon will do fine. Minolta Scan Elite F-2900 or Nikon Coolscan L-2000 could be obtained sub-$100 on eBay. But for slides, you really need to buy the best you can afford just for the D range. Dense slides are very demanding on the hardware (the scanner itself in this case), and some Kodachromes are just next to impossible to scan.

Save up more money or sell some of your unwanted stuff to increase your budget.

The volume of scans AND amount of free time you have should be a BIG factor in your scanner choice.