New To B/W Processing-How Practical?

I have been doing photography for 20+ years, mostly transparencies but some B/W. I have an upcoming project that will require shooting

TMax 100 and 400 in 120 and 4x5. Probably 3-4 rolls/week and 10 sheets/week. How difficult would processing these quantities be and

how best to get started? Quality of the final print(negative will be scanned and printed) is number one, and I can have a lab do this for me if

that is a better solution. What will I gain from doing my own processing(other than cost savings)? Thank you for your time and responses.

Randy

unless you go to a good custom lab anything you do yourself will be better.

the two things you will face are 120 film is tricky to load on a reel.

4 x 5 tanks are hard to deal with and get the film properly in the slots.

there are some issues with proper agitations.

aside from that it's best to do it yourself.

Unless the client is willing to pay for a good local custom lab

If you were going to be developing for your own I'd say forget about the lab completely. Any issues with learning to load are quickly overcome, as are developing issues in either tray or tank, but since you are doing something for someone else it might be best to find a quality lab and let them handle it. The biggest advantage of home processing for me is the ability to gain complete control over the results where a lab always does things one way unless you pay extra for custom processing, and even then you still have more control when you do it yourself.

I'd also add the time needed to that advantages of home developing. I could process the amount you're talking about in a hour of so in my little bathroom/darkroom, but to use a commercial lab you'll have to get the film there, wait for it to be processed, and then go back and pick it up, which will certainly take more than an hour.