New Nikon D40 Body just need lenses

troy_ward1

<p>Hey everyone, I am just getting started and could use some help. I just purchased a D40 body (looked like a nice reasonably priced camera to start out with) minus the kit lense that normally comes with it. I am looking for one or two reasonably priced lenses to get started with. Preferably something that will carry over if/when I upgrade to a higher end model in the future. I am interested primarily in portrait type shooting and possibly some landscapes. Thanks for the help.<br>

Troy W.</p>

<p>I'd suggest the 50mm 1.8D. I got my D40 second hand (less than 1K pics on it. yay!) without the 18-55, but with the 50mm. It is a great portrait lens, and really sharp as well. Comes in handy when it gets darker, since the kit lens is a bit on the slow side. OF course, the only side effect is that it is a manual lens on a D40, but I find it very easy to focus. </p>

<p>How much can you spend on lenses? Reasonably prices differs per person after all.</p>

<p>I can recommend the Nikon 16-85VR, it's a great lens, but pricey. The 18-105VR offers a lot of quality for it price. Some will recommend the 18-200VR, which is not a bad choice too. The suggested 18-55VR and 55-200VR combination is solid value for money too from all I've seen. And then there are the offerings from Tamron, Sigma and Tokina - I cannot really comment on those by lack of experience.<br />I would not recommend starting out with only a 50 f/1.8. It will make the learning curve steeper, potentially more frustrating and if that happens, your D40 will turn out to be a waste of money. If you feel attracted to starting with a non-zooming lens, go for the 35mm f/1.8 DX. It's a far more usable lens on a APS-C sensor body than a 50mm.</p>

<p>Anyway, if budget is somewhat tight, my first choice would be the 18-105VR.</p>