new 7d for my Bday - just a few questions

deadtree02

<p>hello all,<br>

My wife surprised me on my birthday with a 7D. once the shock and excitement wore off I got down to reading the instructions (even though i already knew a lot of it...it is a trait my dad taught me "always read the directions"</p>

<p>so i have a few questions, most of which I know there is no one corret answer, just looking for ideals and thoughts.</p>

<p>first - how do i turn it on and put the lens on? --- just kidding</p>

<p>to give you my frame of referrence I have been using a 20D that has (and will continue to) served me quite well. I take a wide variety of pictures.... family casual portraits, sports (my nephews) scenic views (my wife and I travel)</p>

<p>So i am inquiing to anyone who owns one or has owned one any recomendations on the Cn functions.</p>

<ul>

<li>what do they have theirs at and why/ I am in the process of experimenting and coming up with my own thoughts but I am a history teacher. I research everything including how other people do things.</li>

<li>I have never used Video on a DSLR before and I was wondering ifthere was any advice on setting a CN function</li>

<li>and finally any advise on utilizing the many functions. I personally think it is a waste buying something with so many options and not utilzing as many as possible.</li>

<li>I am doing other research on line so if there are any favorite websites that might help that would be great</li>

</ul>

<p>I am asking these open ended questions because I personally think it is a waste buying something with so many options and not utilzing as many as possible</p>

<p>thank you for taking the time to read this and any help is appreciative</p>

<p>david</p>