New 1000D or Used 20D?

tom_collins3

<p>I have the opportunity to pickup a used (owned by a professional photographer) Canon 20D (body only) for $425 or I can get a brand new Canon Rebel XS (1000D) with IS Kit lens for around $525. I am brand new to DSLR photography. Which one should I choose?</p>

<p>Hmm, pro photogs tend to sell after the useful life of the gear has passed. Five years of use by a pro equals a worn out camera. I'd buy the new 1000D. </p>

Sometimes the light’s all shining on me. Other times I can barely see.

- Robert Hunter

<p>I own a 20D which I bought used from a pro and it was his back-up. Had less than 3000 clicks on it. It's a much more substantial body than any of the Rebels. If the one you're considering is in good shape, it's a much better camera IMO. Also, buy the best lens you can afford for durablility and IQ sake. My $.02</p>

<p>I would recommend that you buy the XS over the 20D (even one that was totally unused). There have just been too many advances over the last few years to further consider the 20D, at least at that price. Among other things, the 20D lacks: live view, auto ISO, auto lighting optimizer, sensor dust removal, 10 MP resolution, Picture Styles, spot metering, ISO in viewfinder, etc. Some folks will say that they don't want or need the "candified" features of some of the newer DSLRs, and the 20D probably will probably serve you better for the sports shooting because of the faster shooting speed, but I believe that someone new to DSLR will probably find the XS easier to use. Plus you get a kit lens that pretty decent. With the 20D, you would have to pay more to get a lens. You should probably try both cameras, as the size/weight difference is not insignificant.</p>