I recently upgraded to CS3 from 2, and shoot Nikon, RAW. After extensive tests with ACR and other third

party processors I prefer Nikon's RAW processing for most properly exposed files (less noise). With CS2

and the NEF plugin you had the choice to open NEF files in Adobe Camera Raw or Nikon's (without having

to launch Nikon View, Capture or other software). Not so in CS3 - I spoke to both Nikon and Adobe

support and they say that the plugin doesn't work (and are not sure when Nikon will come out with a

compatible one).

I'm a professional photographer so need my workflow to be as streamlined as possible - I edit in

Photoshop and don't want to switch to Capture NX. Having the option to open RAW files either way within

the same software program was important. The folks at Adobe said my only option is to uninstall and go

back to CS2. Obviously I'm not thrilled by this - I also just got Lightroom and wouldn't have if I wasn't

upgrading. Before doing so, does anyone have a creative way around it?

Thanks.

Workaround. Lightroom should open the .nef file. When it does, you can do the basic fixes in lightroom. then right click it and export it to Photoshop. You'll get three choices, send the original,edit a copy, or edit a copy with lightroom adjustments (which is usually what I do) when you save either the last two choices you will have another edited copy (same file name with "-edited" added on back in Lightroom right next to the original. good for comparitive purposes too. And the new edited file will be a flat photoshop file in Lightroom, but you can re-edit back in Photoshop with all the layers intact.

Rich - Thanks, but the problem isn't opening the NEF files (of course Lightroom does as

well as CS3) but processing them which workaround doesn't address- after lots of

experience I have found Nikon processes their own RAW files best. I know there are some

slight differences with the Lightroom and Photoshop ACR but not in any significant way in