Need recommendation for SLR replacement

alan_varga

After 9 years away from the forum, I'm back and ready to take on retirement with a new camera. I have a Minolta X700, and am having difficulty finding a DSLR replacement after several searches. Can anyone recommend a body/lens combination that will give me the following (new or very-good used condition)?

lens:

f/1.8 max aperture

~50mm focal length

52mm-55mm threading for accessory lenses/filters (I have 55mm, expect a 52 > 55 step-up ring, would prefer not to go 49 > 55)

camera:

ISO 100-6400 speeds

ability to shoot in RAW or JPG

cost all-in: $600

I know there won't be very many options, but I am not a professional. I am only looking to take vacation photos and explore low-lighting, both of which my X700 could handle easily.

So you want a DSLR. Right, that should be easy! There are pretty much only two choices IMHO. Nikon and Pentax. Pentax doesn't have a camera that can shoot sports/action/wildlife, but their cameras do offer features that you won't necessarily get in a Nikon.

(5:32)

Now, if you want a 36mm sensor, there are some good options at different price points. I don't believe that the D700 can compete with modern cameras, but given its age and price point on the secondhand market, there is absolutely nothing wrong with it. I have taken it up to ISO 6400 although I'd recommend keeping it below that. The other option could be a D600. It is more modern but not necessarily that much more expensive.

(5:11)

There are lots of DX Nikon bodies that I could recommend, as many of them are great. Just avoid the cheapies like the D3200 etc.

The Nikkor 50/1.8 D is pretty good, too.

623-nikkorafd5018ff

Thanks Karim, I'll check these out.

The main problem right now isn't so much the camera as the lens. A lot of what I am finding in the lowest price range typically have a range of f/3.5 - 5.6, which I think would only be good for daylight snapshots, but not for more serious work.