Need parental permission before using their kid's photograph I took years ago?

lcphotography

<p>Hello. My name is Lisa and my passion for photography flourished when I was a head Toddler teacher five years ago. I literally took thousands of toddler pictures and shared many of those images with their parents at that time. Upon using some new editing skills I have learned, the only edits I have really done or needed to do just recently included cropping, using borders, perhaps changing something to B&W... really not much. The power of their expressions and such leave no room for much more! I'm sure ethically it would be good to get the parents' permission before posting, using, selling these images, but is it legally necessary? My concern is that I really want to post and use these images but I may not be able to track down these parents since it's been a while. Thank you in advance for your feedback.</p>

<p>I am not a lawyer and my comments do not take into account any local laws about child protection or children's rights (for instance, at the age the kids probably are now, do the parents have to take the kids' opinion into account). <br>

I understand that getting parents' permission is not legally necessary before posting/selling but it does provide assurance if the parents later change their minds - or want a cut of the money you are earning. If you are still in the teaching profession (it seems not) you also need to consider if it may be considered a potential conflict of interest: for instance are you a teacher to teach or to earn money out of the kids.<br>

If these were adults, I would say 'if you fancy your chances, go ahead'. But as these are kids then to me it enters a whole new ballpark.</p>

<p>I hate it when an innocent pastime becomes embroiled in legal restrictions, but that is the way of world.</p>