Need opinion on Speedlite choice for Digital Rebel

dennis_tam

The 420EX doesn't feature flash exposure compensation (FEC), you have to use it in the camera. Since that function has been disabled in the firmware of the 300D you should either get a flash that has FEC built in (550/580EX oder Sigma EF-500 DG Super) or install the 'russian' firmware that unlocks several functions of the 300D (let's call it 310D then ;-), out of which the FEC is one of the most important.

I use the Sigma flash and it works ok for me, though I need to adjust the flash power using FEC quite often. I have no experience with the Canon flashes, but I read The 420EX doesn't feature flash exposure compensation (FEC), you have to use it in the camera. Since that function has been disabled in the firmware of the 300D you should either get a flash that has FEC built in (550/580EX oder Sigma EF-500 DG Super) or install the 'russian' firmware that unlocks several functions of the 300D (let's call it 310D then ;-), out of which the FEC is one of the most important.

I use the Sigma flash and it works ok for me, though I need to adjust the flash power using FEC quite often. I have no experience with the Canon flashes, but I read they need FEC quite often too.

<p>I have the 420 on my Rebel and 20D. It does the job fairly well. Here's my short list of pros and cons.</p>

<p><b>Pro</b></p>

<ul>

<li>Tilt and swivel</li>

<li>Reasonably priced</li>

<li>Guaranteed future compatibility with EOS cameras</li>

</ul>

<p><b>Con</b></p>

<ul>

<li>No manual controls</li>

<li>Cannot act as wireless master</li>

<li>Maximum FOV equal to 24mm on film, 15mm on digital</li>

</ul>

<p>If you are going to do event photography, the lack of FEC may slow you down. However, most people seem to agree that it is easier/better to do that via the body than fiddling with the flash.</p>