Need Help Picking a Macro Lens for Nikon D60

kristyn_be

<p>I am a newbie to macro photography. I have a Nikon D60 and have just decided to start trying macro photography. I want to photograph the basics...flowers, water droplets, insects, butterflies, etc.<br>

I was looking at the following lenses...anyone have recommendations on which one is are better?? I don't want to exceed $500 but less than that would be much better!!</p>

<p>1.) Nikon 60mm f/2.8 D AF MicroNikkor<br>

2.) Nikon 105mm f/2.8D AF Micro-Nikkor Lens<br>

3.) Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Lens<br>

What is the difference between the AF and the AF-S VR??? The price is considerably higher so I was wondering if it is worth the extra cash?</p>

<p>I really don't know much about this so please help! Also I have read that most people manually focus when doing macro...how do you manually focus without it being blurry??<br>

Thanks in advance!!!</p>

<p>An AF-S lens has the focus motor in the lens, an AF-D or AF lens uses the auto focus motor in the camera.<br>

<br /> The VR bit is Vibration Reduction, a fancy little piece of internal gear that reduces motion blur from camera shake, Given that most of the time you use a mono-pod or tripod when doing macro shots the VR is mostly useless for that,and you turn it off. When you are doing macro work back and forth motion will cause burring because any motion towards or away from the subject will move it out of the focal point of the lens, given that you are working with a depth of field of a couple of millimeters it does not take much motion to get the subject out of focus and VR does not help with that.<br /> I am not familiar enough with the 105mm Micro-Nikkors to know if either one of them has better optics for macro photography, based on reviews I have read I suspect that there is little difference in optical quality.<br>