Need help choosing options for 24" iMac

<p >Hi Gang, Still nervous about making the switch from PC but ready to make the leap. I am ready to buy the 24" iMac and wanted advice on suitable options for me while trying to keep the price down if possible. Yeah right:) I am a freelance photographer. Got a pair od D300's. No Gaming and probably no video. Will be updating to CS4 and probably Lightroom although I see Aperture 2 talked about a lot. I mainly shoot for newspapers, magazines, family portraits, table top, art, and sporting events/parties averaging 300-500 photos (why I am looking at Lightroom). The iMac is kind of pricy for me but willing to sacrifice for a trouble free machine if it is as many claim. Looking at what I will be using the 24" for will these options be enough for me?<br>

iMac, 24-inch, 2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Duo <br />2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Duo <br />2GB 800MHz DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB <br />500GB Serial ATA Drive <br />ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO w/256MB GDDR3 <br />Apple wireless Mighty Mouse <br />Apple Wireless Keyboard (English) + User's Guide <br />iWork '09 preinstalled <br />Accessory kit <br /><br />I was figuring I could add memory later if needed?</p>

<p >Will the ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO w/256MB GDDR3 be adequate or will the NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GS w/512MB GDDR3 make a huge difference for what I will be working with? </p>

<p >Any other suggestions are appreciated. Thanks in advance, John <br /></p>

<p> </p>

• Replies 139
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

<p>I would go with the basic 24imac, but will add asap all the ram possible, meaning 4gig.</p>