ND filters to increase saturation?

<p>A few weeks ago I was looking at someone's gallery. (can't remember who anymore) a lot of dark pre-dawn landscape stuff I believe. There was a comment about using a 5 stop ND filter to open the shutter longer and "increase saturation" I think it was. I'm pretty sure it was noted that it was a digital capture.</p>

<p>Can someone elaborate on this? I've never heard of such a technique. Is this a hark back to some film saturation thing that isn't relevent with a digital sensor? or something I could consider persuing in my own work?</p>

<p>I know that I graduated ND filter can be used to darken a sky relative to the ground, increasing detail in the other parts of the image. I don't believe that a regular ND filter can increase saturation on its own. It is possible that in that particular scene different parts of the image would be colorful at different points in time because of the changing light and opening up the shutter for a few minutes would allow the camera to capture more time.</p>

<p>There are quite of a few photographers who believe that increased exposure time will indeed increase saturation. From a purely physical standpoint, it is simply impossible. The sensor cannot create colour that isn`t there. The most likely explanation imho is that the darker ND (as neutral as their manufacturers claim them to be) do introduce a colour cast (usually in the magentas). So yes, ND filters increase saturation, but not because they increase exposure time. It would be interesting to do an experiment with the same ND but with exposure times vastly different (say iso100, f/16 and 30 to 120s vs iso3200, f/2.8 and 1/8s )...</p>