Name for my Photography business

j.lewis.photo

<p>I'm a photographer just starting to do a decent amount of commercial work. I've started a business, but have not yet finalized the name. I live/work in Sacramento, CA, and do still-life, food, and portrait (mostly corporate/editorial) work. My main focus is and will be still-life (products and food).</p>

<p>I'm still developing my style (I'm only 23), but my vision is clean, simple, images with great detail in my compositions and lighting. I'm a Graphic Design student, and want my work to show a design influence through strong knowledge of color, tension, and strong but simple composition.</p>

<p>The two names I'm debating between are Josh Lewis Photography, and Wojo Studios.</p>

<p>Josh Lewis photography is of course the most obvious solution, and Wojo Studios is more interesting but would also require people to remember not only my name, but also Wojo Studios. Wojo was a childhood nickname of mine, and I thought it appropriate because it's interesting, catchy, easy to remember and also a conversation starter. It's a very simple 4-letter word, which could relate to the simplicity of my style. It's also very simple, and pretty graphical looking.</p>

<p>I hope to eventually go to a larger market such as San Francisco, or if I do stay in Sacramento I would hope to be the top commercial studio in town.</p>

<p>I'm eager to start creating my business identity (logo, colors, business card, website, etc.), so I really need to finalize a name.</p>

<p>So is it a bad idea to choose a name other than your own for your photography business? What are the pros and cons of this. Advice? </p>

<p>Thank you.</p>