My indoor photographs are too dark - help!

chene_barnard

<p>Hey everyone...I have recently brought a Nikon D5000. I do a lot of indoor photography, shots of different rooms & damage to properties. Because I am by no means a pro, I do use the AUTO settings quite a bit, but I find the photos come out very dark, often completely black. At first I thought is may be the light, but I have been in many different light conditions where with a normal digital camera, the photograph is not affected at all.I'm sure that it is a specific setting, but cannot find it. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I can do? I also often find that in very low light conditions, the flash does not automatically switch on? can you somehow force the flash?<br>

I look forward to your suggestions...<br>

Much Appreciated :)</p>

<p>Chene', a couple of things:</p>

<p>Take the camera out of AUTO and put in in Apeture priority. Then open up the lens. This should help things. Also, check your ISO settings. If you're shooting in doors and using ambient light, dial up your ISO a bit.<br>

And yes, you can set your flash for fill-in so it will fire when in a different shooting mode. But try these other things first.</p>

<blockquote>

<p>Hi Eric, no the flash does not go off...the light is not necessarity low & in my option the flash is not needed, but the photograph just comes out very dark.</p>

</blockquote>

<p>My D90 seems to do the same thing, especially when there is large area of light color object in the frame (someone wearing a white T-shirt, for example). I think this is b/c the meter tries to underexpose to protect highlights. If you shoot RAW, you can change the exposure later. Alternatively you can use spot metering or dial in +1 to compensate. Turning off auto-D-lighting also helps, BTW.</p>