My digital RAW files are dark when I use my flash meter

john carter

<p>After that recent great discussion on lighting ratios <a href="http://www.photo.net/photography-lighting-equipment-techniques-forum/00WSHH">http://www.photo.net/photography-lighting-equipment-techniques-forum/00WSHH</a>; I thought I'd ask a question about flash metering. Again I'm a rookie but I have two flashes with variable power and a Sekonic flash meter. When I meter for flash using my triggers I seem to get a stop underexposure when using RAW. As I really don't want to be using my DSLR and I want to use slides, do you think I'll get a normal exposure with my film cameras. </p>

Have you calibrated your meter? I found, when testing my Minolta flashmeter that it was 2/3 or so of a stop oversensitive.

That led to underexposed images until I adjusted it. I really sometimes just use my digital SLR as a meter, with pretty good

accuracy - even for transparency film. I set the camera so that the exposure and histogram look good, then just apply the

appropriate settings for the ISO I'm using to the film camera.

<blockquote>

<p>It is actually a Sekonic L308s and it is brand new. I have used it many times and other than this flash problem it is right on. And I'm doing incident metering with the flash meter using my triggers. But you gave me an idea. I have never checked my Sekonic meter against my DSLR meter. Thanks.</p>

</blockquote>

<p>Scott, it is an extended lumisphere.  My manual says to use this hemisphere dome. <br>

I took some images with my slide film, but they won't be out for a while.</p>

I use the histogram, carefully evaluating the placement of tones. However, I also have the brightness level of the LCD

screen on my D300 set to -2, which closely resembles what I see on my software calibrated monitor. If I'm suspicious of

my flashmeter reading, or I have neglected to throw it in the kit, I find my DSLR to be normally an adequate means of