*******MULTIPLE FLASH*********

stephengalea

I currently own a CANON 10D + 550ex Flash with Omni bounce diffuser.

I want to create a multiple flash setup having backlighting,

diffused light and side lighting. Since locally I cannot view nor

buy any flashes, being 100% sure on the below setup is of at most

importance to me. Keep in mind that I am relatively new to strobes

and artificial lighting.

I have browsed through various flashes, slaves etc and I was going

to buy the following:

? 2 Vivitar 285 flashes to mount onto a Photoflex Umbrella Kit

which Includes: 2 - 45" Umbrellas, 2 - 8' Light Stands & Case +

Multiclamp with Shoe Mount for Umbrella.

? SL-2 Remote Flash Trigger which I could use for background

light.

My intentions are to be able to have a relatively low cost light

setup, where I could freeze motion in still life setups, also being

portable to be able to photograph portraits 1-2 persons on location

at ones home.

Can I opt for this setup instead of buying another 550ex + ST-E2

Transmitter Kit and Umbrella and Stand accessories? The Vivitar 285

is to be triggered via a burst of light? Is it remote?

If the above mentioned setup is fine do I need other accessories to

have a complete setup? Could I buy a soft box instead of an

umbrella? Will the power from the Vivitar using umbrella or soft box

is sufficient for a full length portrait?

I know that that wht I mentioned may be relatively complicated.

Kindly, could any one having Vivitar Flashes explain a simple setup?

If the above is not possible what is the best recommendation for my

intentions?

THX IN ADVANCE

As long as you have slaves or remote triggerng devices like the LPA Pocketwizard you can

use any combination of electronic flash units you like -- in a strictly manual mode.

The attached example was made yesterday using Nikon's wireless iTTL system with two

Nikon SB-800 and one SB-600 Speedlights. The SB-800 (used as master, the others were