MPP 5x4 kit

andrew_gardiner

<p>I am being offered an MPP 5x4 Field camera kit by a friend which includes, as well as the camera (I don't know the model number yet), two lenses; both Schneider, one 150 and a wide angle, a Manfrotto tripod and 10 dark slides all for £700 ( $1,140). All are in good condition and he will set it all up for me and probably let me test it out before I decide. Does this sound like a reasonable deal? I am new to large format and have been looking for a while and becoming ever more bewildered. What is the reputation of this camera?<br>

I need a LF camera for a specific ongoing project of mine. I need to photograph both landscapes and portraits and also lug it across tropical climes. <br>

Any input gratefully received.</p>

<p>Good price if all working and no servicing required. If the outfit has been together since new, the lenses will almost inevitably be a 150 Xenar and a 90 f6.8 Angulon - the Xenar is still good to use, the Angulon offers limited covering power by modern standards and you need to shoot at no larger an aperture than f16. As regards the camera, a Mark VII with a Graflok (international) back is preferable to a Mark VI or earlier, which just has a spring back and is less flexible in what rollfilm backs it can take. MPP cameras are durable and good to use but be aware of how much they weigh before you take a final decision (the Mark VIII was the most sophisticated design but does not necessarily feature the best materials - possible problems with embrittlement of duralumin).</p>