Motorsports Photography/Media Credentials

will_fagundes

<p>Hello Everyone, Im An Amateur Photographer Trying To Get Access To The Circle Of Nascar With The Hopes Of Taking This Hobby To A Higher Level And Become A Professional At Some Point Within The Next 3 Years. I've Been Shooting For About 4 Years Now But Find Very Hard To Get Great Shots During Motorsport Events Unless I Can Get Closer To The Action, Specially In Big Tracks.<br>

Does Anyone Here Knows The Process For Requesting And Being Approved For A Media/Photography Credentials For Nascar, Indy, F1, Etc.?</p>

<p>Thank You,</p>

<p>WF</p>

<p>Will -</p>

<p>Typically the "big" events don't allow freelance photographers into the media area. Instead credentials are reserved for those who are "on assignment" from news media, internet sites, or magazines.</p>

<p>The traditional way to get a pass is to get one of the media outlets listed above to write a letter to the media relations director stating that you are, in fact, on assignment for them. Then the media rep will review and approve or deny the application.</p>

<p>The other way of doing it is to get in with one of the sponsors of the event and have them get you the pass. I know of people who have gotten passes because one of the sponsors of one of the cars wanted some shots of their car.</p>

<p>All of this is in place for a couple of reasons: <br>

1. The event organizers want to tightly control who gets the images to their event and prevent the secondary market from profitting from their event.</p>

<p>2. Liability insurance and coverage. If they opened up the media areas to anyone who wanted to be there, they'd go broke from liability claims. By making sure you're on assignment, they're in effort transferring the liability to the assignee and avoiding it themselves.</p>