more trouble, photo at school leads to disciplinary meeting

<p>Hello again, i made a thread not too long ago about police trouble. I am not doing this on purpose, I am new to photography and trying to make the most of this.</p>

<p>I am bothered, confused, upset among other things, about a letter I received. I go to stony brook university in NY. What happened what I was bored in my dorm room, so I got my camera and went to a common room and started shooting pictures of scenes outside(the parking lot and side walk). Been there for a while taking shots of smokers, and I hear some people coming around the corner so I get ready for them by focusing the camera and locking the exposure. They come around the corner and I take 2 shots of them. They see me and start yelling at me, thinking im someone else. So, not wanting to deal with 2 obnoxious people[girls] i make my way to my room. they run up the stairs and find me unlocking my door, so i go in and close the door. they start knocking, so i just open it up. they want me to delete the photos. At the time, i believed that public photography, or street photography, was legal. I believe I have done nothing wrong. So i tell them i am not going to delete it, and they threaten me by telling me that they will get the resident adviser. so he comes and asks me to delete the photos. the photos are not even good, i dont know these two people, and so i just delete them in front of the RA guy.<br>