Minolta XGM

paul_blackbourn

New boy here

Just wondered if someone can tell me in simple terms if the a XGM is a

good/rare/crap or ??? camera.

My background is that I was a steady eddy 35mm man with a fare bit of stuff that

put it all away with the onset of digi only to find that to sell it was a waste

of time so I decided to start using it again.

I'm just having my leses cleaned and de bugging everything and while 35mm stuff

is cheap I thought I'd buy another body to mach my XGM but wanted to know if the

XGM is OK and therefore is worth buying another or get an upgraded model that

will accept my lenses.

Any info greatly appreciated.

Paul

Hi Paul!

While the XGM is not widely regarded as an 'excellent' body, neither is it close to being 'rare', if its still working properly (accurate shutter timings, light sealed, accurate meter) it will serve its perpose.

It was not the best made body at the time, was somewhat of a budget series as far as i can remember. Look at rokkorfiles.com if you dare... I warn you though, its an excellent site and it can become addictive searching for the more exotic lenses/bodies!

Unless you're into macro/landscape there is no reason not to still with your body. If you want to do more critical stuff like macro and landscape (or want to make massive englarments) you will need mirror lock up. Some of the SRT bodies have this feature. They are excellent quality, fully mechanical beasts that seem to last forever! Im cleaning up a lovely SRT-303 in black finish at the moment in fact. They are very high quality contructed bodies, but do way a bit more :-). But if your XGM does 'go', you can always pick another one up for pennies anyway. Best thing is to just get out there and continue enjoying the ways of 35mm!

All the best,

Rich