hi there everyone, this is my first time on this site, and i need as

much help as everyone can give me. i just purchased a used Minolta

SRT 102, i don't know much about this camera, just what info i found

on this site and on a few others, seems to be a good buy, i am a

complete novice when it comes to manual cameras, and this is my first

attempt at learning. i guess i am looking for any kind of info anyone

can provide on this camera(accessories needed, usage of, and any

problems found with this model) i don't have a flash unit yet,and if

anyone knows the model name for that, that would be a great help.

thank you greatly.

Marjolaine

Hi Marjolaine,

The SRT-102 is indeed a great camera. Many pros used SRT series cameras in the 70s, and what you have is the most fully featured model. It was called SRT-102 in the North American market, while pretty much the same camera was sold as SRT-303 in Europe and SRT-Super in Asia. I am saying pretty much the same camera because in the SRT series Minolta changed features without necessary changing the model name, as well as changing the model name without necessarily changing features. To give an example, one SRT-102 can have mirror lockup while the next one doesn't, but a late series SRT-102 might have exactly the same features as an early SRT-202 (it's successor).

If you don't have the user manual already, you can download it for free from the Minolta USA web site at:

http://www.minoltausa.com/eprise/main/MinoltaUSA/MUSAContent/CPG/CPG_SupportCenter/CPGSupport_Manual.

Select 'Film Cameras' and 'Maxxum 200 202'. An SRT is obviously not a Maxxum, but how are the guys at Minolta supposed to know that after so many years ;-)

Other good sites on the SRT series are:

http://www.rokkorfiles.com/SRT%20Series.htm

http://www.pcisys.net/~rlsnpjs/minolta/srt.html

and

http://de.groups.yahoo.com/group/Minolta-XM/files/Arcticle%20SR-T%20%26%20XM-Motor.pdf

Enjoy your new, old camera!