Hello,

I have a chance to pick up a nice Minolta Auto Meter IIIF for

$79.00. Comes with 10o spot attachment and instructions. I know it

is an older model and was wondering if anyone out there still uses

it and if it can be operated with one hand. I have three F2's that

I use and I would not use the meter very often...maybe for some B&W

zone and to double check exposures in difficult lighting

situations. Would like to know what are your likes/dislikes with

this model and how convenient it is to use. Thanks!

Wayne

It's no problem operating it with one hand. It's a good meter. No extra features besides the averaging function. A little plasticky perhaps.

The only thing I'm missing is the ability to let the shutter speeds step in 1/10 stops instead of the aperture, but with an older Nikon where he shutter only has full stops that's not a problem.

I have no experience with the spot attachment though, although I think ten degrees sound a bit much to be really usable.

In that price range I'd also consider the Gossen Digisix (or Digiflash if you need flash metering). The Minolta has much better user interface but the Gossen is really small and easy to carry everywhere. It doesn't have spot metering either.

I still use mine. About the only thing I reguarly use it for is flash metering, but it works well and is simple to use. It also has easy access to the calibration pot if you should ever need to adjust it. I don't have the spot attachment for it, but I do have the more common reflective light disk. I almost always just use the standard incident dome though. $80 is a good price.