Minolta 28mm f2.8 vs Sigma 24mm f2.8 (Minolta AF)

miguel_rodriguez3

Hi there, I am new to wide angle photography. I have a Tamron 28-

200zoom which is not very good, however I can buy a prime sigma 24mm

f2.8 for the same price as a minolta 28mm f2.8. Both of them are

used in mint condition. I know that the price of a Minolta 24mm f2.8

is quite high (compared to what I'd have to pay for this Sigma).

Which one would you recommend to get me started in wideangle

landscapes? I already tried some with teh Tamron zoom, and I

personally feel attracted to the 24mm, but probably the quality of

the minolta glass is better but unless I hear comments that this

sigma lens is a bad one, I will buy it. THanks for your help.

I was debating this recently, and got some feedback on here that the 28 mm is a bit of a dog (if you search on the word "bowser" you'll find the thread) with a lot of distortion. I ultimately decided to go with a 24mm Minolta used from KEH; the cost was under what the new 28 would have been, and the feedback on the 24 seemed good.

Other good advice I got, however, included the idea that the 28 was really a very good size, giving you a wide/normal angle without giving you too much of the "wide" feeling. So it was a tough decision. I expect to get the 28 someday; for me, this was just prioritizing which lenses when.

I had a thread awhile ago where i was asking about a cheaper 24mm alternative to the minolta's 24mm. The sigma was warmly suggested:)

It took me a few months to find it in minolta af mount, at a good price, but i finally did. I really like it, so far, i used it for maybe 30 frames... It's very wide, but there's not much barrel distortion. It also seemed sharp enough for my needs. The only "problem"(not really a problem for me): it's the noisiest AF lens I ever heard (i have the noisy tokina 17mm at-x too...this produces a much worse rattle-sound.)