Military senior portrait help

obi-wan-yj

<p>I've been asked by some friends to shoot senior portraits of their son who is joining the National Guard (army, I think). Specifically, they want photos of him in his fatigues. I suppose I could take a standard portrait pose in which he happens to be wearing his fatigues, but what's the point of that? Can any of you offer any suggestions for usable senior portrait environments/poses that will also highlight his outfit and future military career? Searching Flickr's database yielded exactly two such shots, both from the same photographer.</p>

<p>This will be my first senior portrait session. I'm presently an advanced amateur with a pretty good eye for lighting. I would like to work into shooting for a living someday, so I want to make the most of a low-pressure request like this from friends.</p>

<p>Males are generally easier (and at the same time more difficult) than females for Senior Portraits. </p>

<p>I'd suggest doing an indoor shot of him in fatigues with a plain background - grey or black - avoid blue (IMHO) - for an outdoor spot find a nice park with water and some trees - that typically makes a good back ground - get a couple of him sitting on the ground - avoid the stand at attention facing directly at the camera. Find a boulder / rock - that makes a good sitting / bench / prop.</p>

<p>Boys are easier because typically they don't care too much about their look / style - girls fuss over all the details - boys also tend not to communicate much in terms of what's working - what they want / like / don't like - Girls will communicate and let you know what's working / not working in spades.</p>

<p>Dave</p>