katydid

I was reading some of the posts which inspired me to learn about layers in

photoshop this afternoon. I did a fill layer (black) and a blur layer. Now I

would like to warm up the skin tones but I can't seem to make another

adjustments layer to do so. Am I missing something? How would you go about

warming up the skin tone or giving them that portrait glow? I have moved

recently with another move coming up in a week or so so all my photoshop books

are packed.

Thanks!<div>00HOrL-31347584.thumb.jpg.42e934e024bf1e6fec2cbb9b7d733714.jpg</div>

Hi Katie, sorry, but I don't have an answer as I am just learning but I wonder if there is something you can do to bring them away from the background more, maybe darken it? His face and her head seem to blend in too much with the background. Maybe changing the skin tones will do that? However, their skin looks good on my monitor

Sorry, good luck with your move!

Not sure where you are with your stack of layers so try this:

1) hold down CTRL ALT SHIFT and then tap the E key to create a new composite of your layers. Make sure this layer is highlighted.

2) now, go to IMAGE, ADJUSTMENTS, PHOTO FILTER and pick out a warming filter and adjust the amount you want.

Note: there are many many ways to do the task and I've chosen a simple method that will warm the entire layer UNLESS you learn to use a feathered selection to select the area you want to warm then use the method above.

There are other tools and plugins to do the same thing but it's always a good thing to get familiar with the basic photoshop tools to start with because this pays off in the long run when things get more complicated.