Medium Format begginer, which camera should I buy?

america_perez

<p>I have been wanting to buy and try a medium format camera. I thought of buying a cheap Holga but recently, while browsing B&H's catalog I came across to some other options under 300 USD such as a Seagull and a Lubitel. I could easily upgrade my budget 250 dollars if I am to get a better camera. I am an artist and I will probably use this for longer. Any advice?<br>

Thanks!</p>

<p> </p>

<p>IMO, the best value in medium format is the Pentax 645. At least that was the case before the digital version (645D) was announced, and now lenses are not nearly as easy to find. It's a great camera, the lenses are superb, and the cost is relatively low. Personally, I like having a camera that can accept a variety of lenses (wide to telephoto) rather than having a camera with just one focal length. I think the increased versatility can lead to increased creativity. I strongly recommend buying a used camera from a photo site, such as photo.net, fredmiranda.com, apug.org, or rangefinderforum.com. It's much easier to ascertain the honesty of the seller, the condition of the equipment, and the prices are generally the best (compared to ebay, KEH, or the used departments of B&H or Adorama). However, I have purchased a number of items from KEH, simply because they are conservative in their ratings of their products, and they have a very generous, no-questions-asked return policy.</p>

<p>you don't need to blow a huge wad of cash to start out in medium format - try picking up a yashica d [1960s tlr] & a hand-held meter, for about $80, or so; they're Really great - i had mine for several years, before upgrading to a rolleiflex 2.8f.</p>

<p>The Seagull and the Lubitel do not have a reputation for reliability. And the Holga is its own thing, don't buy it if you really want to try out medium format.</p>