mamiya TLR

joel_stowe

Hi all, I am looking to get a medium format camera and am looking at the Mamiya

TLR or going with a Bronica 645 system. I would be using it to take pictures of

landscape, close-ups of fences, old buildings. I may use it to take portraits

every once in a while. With the TLR what lens would you recommend?

Thanks Joel

TLR has limitted lens selection, only 80, 180, and 250 mm on teles, or one wide lens, but that is perhaps all you would want. I settled for 80mm and 180mm.

There is no mirror loud clap noise, and you can sync flash at all shutter speeds. This will practically prevent any "closed eyes" effect in people sensitive to noise or a flash, pre-flash etc.

Picture taking is very quiet operation.

The built-in bellows allows close ups without additional rings, just need to observe the paralax.

TLR is usually lighter than any other type of medium format camera.

Mamiya lenses are of great reputation.

I've been using Mamiya TLRs for over 45 years and have just never seen a reason to look elsewhere for a superior camera. Lens range from 55 to 250 MM, They may be a little on the heavy side but I still manage mine with no problems and there built like a tank. I've never had on fail me in the field and ther virtually maintenance free, and of coarse in this age of a new digital release every few days they're rather inexpensive, Best of luck in your photography.

I've used both the 220 and 330 Pro for several years now. I find I use the 65mm and 105mm more than any other lenses. I shoot similar to what you describe. The 220 is lighter and I'd recommend that if you're going to be carrying it around all day. Takes just as good pictures as the 330.