Mamiya 7 or Pentax 67

ryan_kalivretenos

<p>I know, I know, this question has been asked 50 billion times. I have done research. I dont have access to try one out. I am a very experienced photographer traveling to Kenya to work on a portrait project for a charity. I will be taking my Canon 5D kit for most of the work, but want to take a film camera as well. I have worked with an RB67 extensively and love the chromes I got from that camera, so I figured to stay with that format. I will be renting the body and two lenses. I believe I understand the pros and cons of each, but am unable to ascertain the extent to which the cons affect the camera. Weight is a minor issue, I am a big strong guy and wont be using the film camera too extensively due to the budget and film costs. My main concerns are ease of use, reliability, durability, and focus. Focus and sharp images are crucial as the images will be printed up to 4x6 ft. I have used 4x5's focusing with a loupe, to the advanced autofocus systems in high end Nikons, but the main complaint I hear is focus issues with the Mamiya 7. If anyone could weigh in and give some advice, that would be great.</p>

<p>Best,<br>

Ryan</p>

<p>I've never used a Pentax 67, but I've owned several different medium format kits, including a Mamiya 7II. The Mamiya 7 is excellent for me, but I take environmental portraits, so the lack of close focusing does not bother me. </p>

<p>I've noticed that many folks who complain about focus issues are using the 150mm lens. They're probably the same folks who complain that the Mamiya lenses are too slow. So I'd expect that they're new to MF and don't understand the DOF limitations of the longer focal length lenses when used in closer. Having the rangefinder properly adjusted is important, of course. And, if you're off to Kenya, you may want to learn to do this yourself.</p>