Mamiya 645 PRO TL

ted_jocson

I am considering purchasing a Mmiya 645 PRO TL as my first medium

format camera. I am a pro but have been shooting 35 and digital.

What do you guys think about this camera. Pros and cons? What are

the other options?

Thanks in advance.

I bought a PRO TL 2 years ago and have been very happy with the system. It was my first MF camera, and was well worth what I paid for it.

Pros:

affordable lenses - I love the 45mm wide angle, and the 150mm is a nice head and shoulders portrait lens.

with the fe401 prism, you've got spot metering and average metering. i find I'm either using spot or handheld incident, and i find it's a good balance.

cons:

by no means is this kit cheap feeling; hassy users might try and go down this route, but it's not so much the case. it doesn't have that super solid feel like you'd find in a gitzo or an old durst enlarger. i do find that with the power grip, for example, it feels vaugely wonky. i know that - perhaps in a fit of bizarre rage - i could probably tear it off.

with this said, i use my 645 as my walkabout camera, and it's been bashed through the bush, carried in a backpack, used in torrential rain, and during a few days of -30C weather in Toronto this past winter. Not once have I had any failures of any sort, that weren't directly related to me.

the ae prism "bleeds" a bit. you get used to it, but sometimes it can be a pain.

One thing I would consider when maying the forray into MF, is what will the future of the camera be. I went for the PRO TL because it looked as if it would be able to use digital backs. I'm not so sure about that any more; if you look at the mamiya site and try and see which are available, it's all a bit sketchy. obviously the AF is well supported, and probably will still be five years from now. I don't get the impression that the PRO TL will be. I don't want to have to choose from a lousy selection of 2nd rate backs when the times comes that they may be affordable.