Making an 8x10 negative ....conventional , digital or 8x10 camera?

I�ve been reading these archives for about a week now and just

cannot seem to put the whole picture together on a few basic

questions. Perhaps it is because the topics are not directly joined

and I may be confusing myself on the blending of the different

replies. So if you would be so kind as to forgive my ignorance on

Platinum/Palladium printing I would like to ask a few simple

questions. Please treat me like a complete beginner without any

basic knowledge and do not assume that I have any knowledgeable on

the different choices that seem available.

My questions are:

What method (digital or enlarging) in your opinion would be the

simplest way to take a 4x5 negative and create an 8x10 negative for

Pt/Pd printing?

When making a digital negative, what is it that you would scan as a

source?

I have the equipment to make a digital negative or enlarge a 4x5

negative, so which would you recommend that would provide a quality

negative yet be straightforward to do?

I do not have the money at this time to buy a used 8x10 camera, but

the kids are all grown up and I could now sell the milk cow and get

the money. Should I take this direction as the best possible

solution towards getting an 8x10 negative for Pt/Pd printing?

Thanks for helping a newcomer.

I can't tell you that one method is particularly better then another. On Ed Buffaloe's site, www.unblinkingeye.com, you will find an article written by Bob Herbst on enlarging negatives using ortho litho film. Additionally, I believe that Ed also addresses a direct negative to negative process without the bother of doing an interpositive. There are a couple of other sites if you do a search under "platinum" (I forget the photographers names, but both located in New Mexico) that are about making an enlarged negative using conventional darkroom processes.