Makeshift studio lighting?

nang

Let me preface this by saying that I have no experience working in a

studio, and have no studio lighting equipment.

I'd like to play around with some flower photography. Not anything

closeup. Just to experiment.

My problem is that I don't know of a way to get softer lighting with

the stuff I have available in my home, and I'm looking to see if

anyone can suggest something. I don't own any flashes.

I have plenty of desk lamps, and I have a lightboard that I use to

view my slides. I was thinking of perhaps shining some bright lights

through a white sheet, maybe?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give :)

A bunch of gooseneck or clamp-on lamps with 100 watt or so floodlamps works pretty well for makeshift use. No problems at all with b&w and relatively little problem with digital. Too much hassle for most color films, tho', because of the color balance issue.

Another alternative is to buy three or more fairly powerful hotshoe type flash units and optical slave sensors to trigger them. There are also "peanut" flashes with built-in slave sensors that don't cost much. They can't be used on-camera, tho' - no provision for hotshoe or sync cord contacts.

The only catch with multiple flash use like this, tho', is that you'll either need a flash meter or spend some time manually calculating the total flash exposure. I managed fairly well doing the latter before getting a flash meter but the meter made things far quicker, easier and more reliable, which was much less taxing to the patience of my models (mostly family and friends).

Hi Nick