Macro Lens for D3100

brendan_ferguson

<p>Hi,<br>

I am fairly new to photography and am currently enjoying struggling with the basics.<br>

Anyhow, I would love to start shooting macro with my Nikon D3100. I have already done a fair bit of research and will purchase some extension tubes, but understand that that is only part of the picture. A macro lens is really ideal for the best pictures. People tend to think a 100mm lens (or there about) is fairly good for general use, so I thought I would start there.<br>

I am on a budget and really can't afford the Nikon Macro Lens up on the Nikon website right now, (about $500) But have heard that auto focus is not needed anyhow, and from my limited experience with macro, I do concur. Manual is IN!<br>

So I don't want to loose metering and what ever else the lens is doing, but would like to know how to find these lenses on eBay, or what ever camera website I am looking at. http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d3100/compatibility02.htm Has a list of compatible lenses, but I honestly have a hard time figuring out what ones will work.<br>

When I try to understand this chart, type G or D lenses will work so long as they are AF compliant.... But I don't need an Auto Focus.... Can someone help me in understanding what less expensive lenses might work and how I can tell if they will maintain functionality aside from Auto Focus? Its not not clear to me if any other lenses other than G and D types will suffice. Some have footnotes and I don't really understand the implications of how it may effect my photography.<br>

I do appreciate the help.<br>

Brendan</p>