Macro Lens - Canon 50D

<p>I am trying to round out my bag-o-lenses and feel that I have two lenses to go. This query is regarding a macro lens for my 50D. I am considering the Canon 100 2.8 USM, Sigma 150 2.8 HSM and 180 2.8 HSM, the Tokina 100 2.8 (though this lens is pretty loud in AF).<br>

I am by no means an expert or even a highly experienced photographer and I feel that a macro lens will realistically get limited usage, but would be fun to have for a variety of images. I find some macro photography facinating.<br>

Truth be told, based on the limited usage, I am more apt to spend in the sub $500 range versus going overboard on a lens that I am likely to use on such a limited basis. If I find that I love the macro shooting and do it a lot and feel I need a better lens, I can always upgrade down the road. At the same time, I don't want to buy something that is going to be disappointing from the start.<br>

What are your experienced and expert opinions and why? Thanks much in advance.</p>

<p>If you don't see yourself upgrading to full-frame anytime soon, the Canon EF-S 60mm Macro is very sharp, very well built, and very affordable.<br>

The shorter focal length vs the 100mm macro means you have to work a little closer, but I find the 90mm equivalent focal length just right for other uses as well.<br>

<Chas><br /></p>