Macro and Fisheye lens

joeydaless

I am new to the camera and was curious the benefits of using a macro and fish eye lens. How do they affect the camera. Lastly, I would like to know how it is useful especially in black and white photography.

Links

What is a Macro Lens? Everything You Need to Know as a Beginner - BorrowLenses Blog

Fantastic Fisheye Lens Photography: A Basic Guide for Great Effect

• Like 4

Lastly, I would like to know how it is useful especially in black and white photography.

What kind of "macro lens" are we talking about? <- Double checking...

1. Clip or screw in front of existing (cell phone?) camera with fixed lens to close up further?
  2. A prime for an ILC, that covers infinity and closer than usual?

One could argue: "Default use case for macro lenses is shooting flowers. Flowers are beautifully colorful. Approaching them with B&W = frustration guarnted..."

OTOH: The world is full of interesting structures and when the light hits them nicely B&W can be a lot of fun. You'll really learn a lot about filters & lighting, when you 'll try to shoot flowers in B&W.

IMHO you can't go wrong with a macro lens. - I own 3 to 5 of those. + the usual substitutes like ordinary lenses with lots of bellows draw or extension tubes and close up filters.

I don't own a fisheye. It would render the world in an unusual way. I suspect folks to shoot theirs once in a blue moon because they own them instead of owning them because they feel an urge to take 4 shots / year... YMMV, but a macro lens is way likelier to see use. Some macro lenses are great(!) "day in day out" lenses. They tend to be pretty sharp. But try to read reviews about your candidate's AF speed, before you take it to a side line.

To me it doesn't matter if they allow 1:1 reproduction. - It seems close to impossible to handhold with subject DOF covererd that close.

• Like 1