lubricant for old camera

Hi Sigurd, cameras need very little lubrication if any at all. I'm pretty new to fixing cameras and it depends on whats sticking. Let us know what's not working and I'm sure someone will post a solution.

Lenses use a special grease on the focusing but I sometimes use white lithium grease. Shutters are another thing, I've never had to oil one. I just clean them with lighter fluid.

Take a look at the lubricants section of www.micro-tools.com to get an idea of the types of oils and greases that are supposed to be used for cameras. There are other sources of these high-grade lubricants, including www.timesavers.com (a clock parts supplier) or http://www.nancyfrattimusicboxes.com (a music box restoration supplier).

If you are into the engineering aspects of these high-grade oils, take a look at www.nyelubricants.com and http://www.kluber.com.

Most shutters and wind mechanisms need lubrication if they are to operate well for a long time, despite the internet support for 'running shutters dry'.

Seek out a repair manual for your specific camera and it'll make your DIY camera repair a lot easier. There are several repair manual suppliers on the net and eBay. Those manuals will specify the lubrication plan, albeit often in terms of outdated lubes that you will have to choose a suitable substitute.

Most important is knowing how much of any lubricant to use. Use too much and you'll botch the job worse than not using enough.

Cleaning, though is the real secret to a good repair. Clean the camera/shutter really well before you start gooping it up with oil and grease!