Low light

buns

<p>So I am a self taught photographer. I know, how many times have you heard this. I have the "eye", but the technical part I struggle with. I have a Canon 40D, and I like to think I'm pretty good with natural light. I am restricted though because of this. I am restricted to outside and during the day time. Inside with little windows and night time I do not do because I do not know how to use light or really my flash the way I need to. I bought a flash two years ago and still don't understand how to use it. If the wedding reception is to be inside or at night, I always hire a second photographer to help out with that in case I just cannot pull it off. I just don't understand how it works. Is there a site anywhere that anyone knows of that not only can walk me through it but has some way to teach it too so that I can retain the information. I love photography, but just having an eye for it doesn't get you very far in this digital era.</p>

<p>Thanks for your kind comments</p>

<p>This Forum (photo.net) has a lot of resources, including the technical stuff and links to awesome other sites as well. I am also quasi-self taught, but reading all the posts in various forums here have helped me out amazingly. I also am in several facebook groups (I think one is called guide to OCF) If you like to read books- I'm sure amazon might have a thing or two about basic lighting principles (which apply universally). <br>

I would also recommend finding a mentor to help you make that leap- especially since you are taking big risks photographing weddings. I've seen posts in the 2nd shooter forums who was looking for an intern of sorts. <br>

http://www.photo.net/photography-lighting-equipment-techniques-forum/ <br>

http://www.photo.net/beginner-photography-questions-forum/<br>

http://www.photo.net/photography-education-forum/</p>