Low light event photo's

kazwiltshire

<p>I have been asked to photograph a small high brow fashion event in a restaurant. I have several concerns, firstly to capture the atmoshere i was hoping not to use the flash ( 430ex) but i know my 50D will be hopeless past 800iso.<br>

I'm not experienced at low light indoors and struggle with using the flash and getting well exposed pics.<br>

So do i beg/ borrow / buy a 5d2 or a 7d? all my lenses will fit the 7d but only two will fit the 5d2 (50mm 1.4 & 70-200L) I have a 17-55 2.8 which i would probably use in this situation or i could buy the 24-70L and sell the 17-55.<br>

Will either be any good at low light high iso?...photos will be used for blog pages and other online promos.<br>

I realise i do need to upgrade at some point soon but this event is bringing it forward.<br>

My mind is just a sea of indesision! My heart wants the FF but my head cant quite justifiy the need with the 7d being such a good camera. </p>

<p>How long do you have to prepare?</p>

<p>The cheapest approach would be to buy a 580 and maybe another 430 flash. And then start practicing with the 580 as the master on the camera and the 430s off. If you struggle with using flash, you'll want to allow yourself plenty of time.</p>

<p>If you really want high quality, low light photos, the 5D2 is the choice. Couple that with a 35/1.4, and you'll truly be set for low light.</p>

<p>Eric</p>

<p>The 50D is not hopeless past ISO 800. I use it at 1600 all the time. The noise is mostly chroma and ACR from CS5 cleans it up extremely well. Beyond 1600 it has patterns and I haven't tried that with CS5, yet. I won't discourage you from an upgrade, but you can get a little more out of the 50D than you think.</p>