Low light and older dslrs

alvinyap

<p>Dear pnetters,<br>

Hopefully gig photography is a social event and this would be a correct place to post :)<br>

My first time shooting at a club last week, however lighting levels were very low. I had my 24/2.8 and 50/1.8 as my key lenses (Recced the place days before so I knew what focal lengths would work for me). I was up to iso 3200 and iso6400 (hi-1) for most of the evening. Even so, my shutter speeds were as low as 1/15, 1/30. And this is on my d300.<br>

Here's my question: If I only had my D200 which goes only up to 3200 equiv, how would one approach exposing such shots correctly, given that only available light was available (pun). I'm not looking for equipment upgrades btw, I'm not a pro, just want to work the best with what I got.</p>

<p>Some shots are here:<br>

http://www.photo.net/photodb/folder?folder_id=959796</p>

<p>Thanks!<br>

<br /> Regards,<br>

Alvin</p>

<p>Nothing for it but a bit of off-camera flash in a situation like that. With a small stage like that, I'd consider gelling (say, with an amber, tungsten-flavored bit of gel) an SB-600/800/900 and using something like a super clamp to get the strobe up on a fixture or pole of some sort, providing some cross lighting (which would be in keeping with the theatrical look of the existing light), and let CLS or some radio triggers tell the strobe to just provide a whiff of light. Not a big blast, just enough to let you work closer to ISO 1600 and to provide some crisp detail, even if you're dragging the shutter.<br /><br />Of course doing that requires a bit of coordination with the person running the stage, but aren't the people skills really the hardest part of photography? :-)</p>

<p>Ken Rockwell's comparison of high-iso performance of D200 vs D300:<br>

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d300/moonlight/index.htm</p>

<p>Another comparison of D3, D90, D300 and D200 at ISO3200.<br>

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d90/iso-3200.htm</p>